Senior Max Pettit of Van Meter was one of six Iowa athletes to receive a student athlete achievement award by the Iowa Banker’s Association, in a presentation made during the state football championship games.

One student athlete from each of the six classes of football were honored. Van Meter’s Pettit was the representative of Class 1-A. Van Meter was the Class 1-A state runner-up at the UNI-Dome last Friday.

Those who received recognition included Alex Perrin, Fremont-Mills/Tabor (eight-player); Jack Siever, St. Ansgar (Class A); Max Pettit, Van Meter (Class 1-A); Will Hansen, Greene County (Class 2-A); Cody Hall, DC-Grimes (Class 3-A); and Sam Belding, Ankeny (Class 4-A).

One student from each football class was awarded a $1,000 scholarship from the IBA to attend the college of the athlete’s choice.

Recipients are selected based on academic performance, athletic participation, leadership skills and community involvement.

“These student leaders are dedicated not only to their teams, but to their communities as well,” said IBA vice-president of Marketing and Communications Tara Deering-Hansen.

“Iowa Banks are committed to helping Iowans reach their financial goals. Providing these student scholarships is a win for everyone because after graduating, the hope is they’ll continue to use their skills and talents in our communities.”