The Van Meter Bulldogs defeated Underwood, West Sioux, and North Linn to win the Class 2-A state championship this year. 

The Bulldogs finished out the season 34-3 with a 22-game winning streak.

Van Meter baseball

Against West Sioux, pitcher Zach Pleggenkuhle earned 17 strikeouts. Pleggenkuhle pitched all 7 innings with 106 pitches, allowing 2 hits and 0 runs.

This is the second time in school history that the Bulldogs have won state, and the first time since 2003.

Van Meter 17, Underwood 7

Van Meter played Underwood last Monday, winning the first round of the state championship tournament with a final score of 17-7. 

Sophomore Zach Pleggenkuhle and junior Anthony Potthoff both scored 4 runs for 1 at-bat and hit a triple. Junior Anthony Potthoff also had two RBIs. 

Freshman Ganon Archer was the winning pitcher, allowing 5 runs and earning 5 strikeouts. 

Van Meter 3, West Sioux 0

Van Meter defeated West Sioux 3-0 in the second round of state championships on Thursday. 

Junior Anthony Potthoff, senior Spencer Lamb, and junior Jackson Wilcox each scored a run for Van Meter. 

Sophomore Zach Pleggenkuhle pitched all seven innings for a total of 106 pitches. Pleggenkuhle allowed 2 hits and 0 runs, earning 17 strikeouts. 

Van Meter 6, North Linn 0

Van Meter beat North Linn 6-0 in the third round on Saturday. 

Junior Tyler Haynes scored 2 runs for 0 at-bats. One run each was scored by junior Brett Berg, senior Spencer Lamb, junior Kolby Booge, and freshman Jack Pettit. 

Junior Anthony Potthoff pitched all 7 innings, allowing 7 hits and 0 runs, earning 5 strikeouts.