A total of 60 teams will be members of Class A football this fall, including Earlham, and those 60 teams spread across 10 six-team districts.

Earlham to Class A, District 8

Earlham will be a member of District 8, along with Madrid, Nodaway Valley, Ogden, Wayne of Corydon and Woodward-Academy.

Earlham was 9-2 this past season, with a 5-0 district record. Earlham lost the first game of the season in  a non-district game with Van Meter, 33-12, and then won nine straight games before being shut out by St. Ansgar in a snowy, windy playoff game up in St. Ansgar.

Earlham will be losing nine seniors to graduation in quarterback Alex Caskey, Jacob Ridgley, Sam Kasap, Grant Carter, Gabe LeGrand, Cameron Terry, Slater Goff, and multi-sport athletes Caleb Swalla and Derrin Sesker. The Cardinals have seven juniors moving up, along with a plethora of sophomores and eight freshmen.

Swalla was the second leading rusher in all of Class A this past season, with 29 TDs and 2,325 yards rushing. He also had 76 combined tackles, of which 66 were solo. Sesker had 40 solo tackles and was credited with 49.5 combined tackles.

Cards move from District 9

Earlham was in District 9 this past season, and was the district 2019 champion. Other members of the district were AHSTW of Avoca, CB St. Albert, Southwest Valley of Corning, Nodaway Valley and Riverside of Oakland.

AHSTW, Riverside, SW Valley and CB St. Albert all remain in District 9, while Southwest Iowa of Sidney and Tri-Center of Neola join to complete the revised six-team district.

The longest district game for Earlham will be Wayne of Corydon at 103 miles. 

Both Madrid and Ogden are 42 miles, while Greenfield is a 36-mile jaunt and Woodward-Granger is 35 miles distant.

Schedules will be announced later this month.

Reporter at the Winterset Madisonian. He has also been the managing editor at the Madisonian.