Van Meter pulled a shutout of Panorama of Panora on the road Friday, 20-0, handing the Warhawks their first loss of the year.

Van Meter QB Anthony Potthoff threw for one touchdown, connecting with Cody Coffman on a 29-yard pass, while senior Ian Abrahamson ran for 141 yards and two TDs for the dog pound.

The Bulldogs took the lead with 3:02 remaining in the first quarter as Ian Abrahamson had a one-yard plunge into the end zone. Anthony Potthoff threw a 29-yard pass to Cody Coffman with 6:50 remaining in the half to give Van Meter a 12-0 lead.

In the third quarter, Ian Abrahamson picked up his second rushing TD on the night, running 28 yards for the score. A two-point conversion – a pass from Anthony Potthoff to Cody Coffman – gave the Bulldogs the final margin of victory, 20-0, the seventh in as many starts.

Van Meter’s victory over Panorama was the seventh straight win for the bulldogs over the Panthers, with the Bulldogs leading the overall series, 7-4.

With CR Xavier’s loss Friday to Western Dubuque, Van Meter has the state’s longest current football winning streak with 42 regular season games. Van Meter also has the longest string of victories in District play, with 28 straight victories.

Since the beginning of the 2013 season, Van Meter has won 57 of 61 of its regular season games.

Van Meter leads Class 1-A District 8 with a 3-0 district record with two games remaining. The Bulldogs travel to Mount Ayr on Friday, and end the season at home next week against Clarinda, which has yet to win a district game heading into this week’s game against host West Central Valley of Stuart, winless in seven starts.

Mount Ayr is 2-1 in district play, along with Adair-Casey/Guthrie Center and Panorama.

This week’s Panorama/AC-GC game looms large coming down the stretch for a second place post-season playoff slot.

Van Meter 20, Panorama 0

Passing: VM: Anthony Potthoff 5-9-080 (TD). Pan: Domonic Walker 1-17-1-2, Luke South 0-1-1-0.

Rushing: VM: Ian Abrahamson 31-141 (2TD), Dalten VanPelt 7-19, Anthony Potthoff 16-7. Pan: Michael Allen 7-28, Domonic Walker 9-17, Luke South 4-1.

Receiving: VM: Cody Coffman 1-29 (TD), Ian Abrahamson 2-027, Kolby Booge 1-21, Chris Schreck 1-3. Pan: Lucas Leiferman 1-2.

Picks: Hunter Coyle 1-11, Calvin Sieck 1-1.

Tackles (5 or more): VM: Hunter Coyle 3-2-5. Pan:    Drew Taylor 7-5-12, Kade Arganbright 6-3-9, Trent Jambleton 6-0-6, Jadyn Howard 1-5-6 Preston Walker 3-2-5, Evan Taylor 3-2-5, Michael Allen 3-2-5. Sacks: Pan: Wyatt Appleseth 1-8.

Returns: Pan: 3-22.

First downs: VM: 15. Pan: 5.

Total offense: VM: 64-244. Pan: 38-48.

Penalties: VM 9-75. Pan: 7-42.

Time of possession: VM: 34:37. Pan: 13:23.

Reporter at the Winterset Madisonian. He has also been the managing editor at the Madisonian.